Focaccia Bread

focaccia 012

I wanted make focaccia bread from a long time; I tried it out while I was in Bangalore too. I don’t know I don’t like the taste or the yeast whatever the reason was, I dint like it at all. Here in the US the quality of the yeast is very good, after coming here I have baked dinner rolls, burger buns and everything came out good to look and eat so I thought will try something else and decided to make Focaccia. the main reason I wanted to make focaccia was, last week I and DH had gone for dinner to a Italian restaurant there they serve this focaccia and a kind of sauce with olive oil and chilli flakes first even before we order , we need to dip the focaccia in the sauce and eat and its divine I must say , so I wanted to make it at home and finally taking tips from other recipes I have made some changes and adjustments according to my taste, when you try you too can make your version, so lets make the Focaccia bread.

Basic Information:
Preparation Time:10 minutes

Idle time : 45 to 60 minutes
Cooking Time: 20 to 25 minutes
makes : 8* 8  inch bread
What we need

1 cup – bread flour/Maida/all purpose flour
½ tsp – salt
1and ½ tsp – yeast
1/4th cup – finely chopped garlic, jalapenos’, dry red chills, fresh mint, thyme. (All these fit in 1/4th cup)
2/3rd cup – warm water
Oil – 3tbsp

focaccia 002 focaccia 003 focaccia 004 focaccia 006 focaccia 008focaccia 009
How to make

First poof the yeast if you’re using active yeast or if you’re using instant yeast just mix it with the flour. Mix all the ingredients and make in a soft dough kneed it for five minutes, the dough will be a bit sticky but its fine .then take a 8 inch pan and apply some oil and put the dough and spread it in the baking trade and keep it in a warm place to rise, once it doubles just make small dents and bake it for 200 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes or until golden brown on top and Focaccia is ready, cut it into small pieces after its cooled down.

focaccia 013

Notes

The dough will be and should be  sticky but don’t worry the bread will be fine.

The seasoning what ever the choice is yours, I have used more of garlic coz I like garlic flavour.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Focaccia Bread

Leave a Reply

