Veg Puffs

video 007

I wanted to make puffs in Bangalore, the ones we get in those local bakeries or Iyengar bakeries. I needed puff pastry sheets to make puffs, we can make pastry sheets at home, but I feel it’s a very tedious work, and ready made puff pastry sheets are not / were not easily available in Bangalore. So this time when I knew that I will be in the US I decided that I will make veg puffs using puff pastry sheets. For the first few weeks I had totally had forgotten about puffs. Then on one of the weekends when I was shopping for groceries I remembered about puff pastry sheets, searched and searched and asked the sales person also but it was not there, I checked online and did everything, then finally after two weeks I found the puff pastry sheets, but then I dint have the exact recipe, I searched few recipes online and books. Finally I made the puffs by taking an idea and hint from the other recipes. So here goes the recipe.

Basic Information:
Preparation Time: 20 minutes.
Cooking Time: 20 minutes
makes: 6 puffs
What you will want.

Ready-made puff pastry sheets – 2 sheets (I make 6 puffs)
For the stuffing we will need
1- Cup of mixed boiled vegetables (potato, peas, capsicum, beans, carrot etc)
1 – Tbsp ginger garlic paste
1 – Onion finely chopped
6 or more – green chillies finely chopped
1 –tsp lemon juice
¼ cup – coriander finely chopped
¼ tsp – turmeric
½ tspn – Red chilli powder (Optional)
Oil – 1 tbsp
Salt according to taste.

kkk 009 kkk 010 kkk 012 kkk 014 kkk 015 kkk 016 kkk 017
Method

First thaw the puff pastry sheets 40 minutes to 1 hour.
Then in pan add oil, once the oil is hot add onion, green, ginger garlic and turmeric, sauté it for 10 minutes , then add the mixed boiled veggies , add salt , chilli powder and mix well and let it cook for 15 minutes, finally add lemon mix well and let it cool before filling in the sheets.
Once the filling is cooled, take the sheets and roll it little more length into breath then cut it into three strips of rectangle, do the same with the other strip and fill in the stuffing by talking one tbsp and seal the edges with water, so that it does not open during baking.
Pre-heat the oven for 10 minutes at 200 degrees and bake the puffs on top rack for 15 minutes at 180 degrees and its done, let it cool for 5 to 10 minutes before serving

6 thoughts on “Veg Puffs

  1. Pingback: Spinach & Cream cheese Pine wheels | momsrecipes

Leave a Reply

