Ridge Gourd Kootu/Herekai kootu

photo 3 (3)

I never eat many vegetable, no I am not a non-veg person, I am pure vegetarian I don’t even eat eggs, you know that if you have been reading my blog, that’s why eggless bakes. So after making this recipe I eat this vegetable sigh. Ok and another thing is my DH is tambrahm a Tamil Iyengar, so now and then I try and make the Iyengar cuisines, it actually very simple and healthy I feel, so we mix and match and cook both type of cuisines mine and his, so I thought I will start the Iyengar cuisine I have started to experiment with, also so that I can remember what I did and it will be easier for me, when I want to do the same recipe again. I really like this recipe a lot so thought will start my Iyengar cuisines with this recipe. So here goes the recipe.

Basic Information:
Preparation Time: 20 minutes.
Idle Time: NIL
Cooking Time: 30 minutes
makes:   Serves 3 to 4

What you will need

I cup Ridge gourd chopped

½ cup moong dal

Turmeric – ½ tsp

4 to 5 Green chillies

Pepper ½ tsp

Jeera 1 tsp

Urad dal – 1 tbsp

Grated coconut – ¼ cup

Oil – 1 tsp

Salt – 1 tsp

Mustard seeds – 1 tsp

Curry leaves – 5

Red chillies – 3 cut into pieces

Hing one pinch

photo 2 (3) photo 3 photo 3 (2)    photo 4photo 2 (2)photo 1 (3)

 

photo 1 (2)photo 2 (4)

 

How to make

First boil the moong dal, in a pan with water and turmeric, it will take 2o minutes to cook fully or you can pressure cook in a cooker. Once the moong dal is dome, add the chopped the ridge gourd and let it cook in sim, let it cook until done

In the mean time, in dry pan add the jeera, pepper,urad dal and chillies and dry fry it for 1 minute then add the grated coconut and fry it for another 1 minute, then let it cool., Once it cools grind it coarsely and keep it aside

In another pan add oil, once the oil is hot add mustard seeds, hing and curry leaves and keep it aside.

Now in the moong dal and Ridge gourd , add salt and coarsely grind powder and mix well and it cook for 10 more minutes and then add the tadka and the kootu is ready to serve with chapatti or hot rice.

Notes

Cooking the moong dal in the cooker reduces the cooking time.

I prefer dal to be in shape I don’t like the mashed dal, most of the time the dal will be mashed when cooked in cooker.

Leave a Reply

