Vegan Carrot Halwa

photo 1 (2)

As I have written in my previous posts and maybe throughout my blog, that I may become a vegan in future, so I am preparing myself, also as of now I don’t take buttermilk, milk, curd etc in my diet, yeah I eat cheese, that too very rarely and also I like cheese, so it may take some time before I am fully off from that, until that I am “half vegan”. So here goes my simple yet tasty recipe.

Basic Information:
Preparation Time: 10 minutes.
Idle Time: NIL
Cooking Time: 30 minutes
makes:   serves 2 to 3 people

What you will need

1 cup grated / finely chopped carrot

½ cup sugar

½ tsp eliche powered

¼ cup almond (blended in smooth paste)*

1 tbsp water

1 tbsp cashew and dry grapes

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

How to make

First in a pan add the cashew and dry grapes and dry fry for 2 minutes and keep it aside. The in the same pan add  the grated carrot ,water and let it cook for 10 to 15 minutes, keep stirring and then add sugar, eliche and mix well and let it cook for again 15 minutes again.

Then add the almond paste mix well and let it cook again for 15 minutes or until the carrots are cooked, then garnish with cashew and dry grapes and its ready to serve.

photo 2 (2)

Notes

For almond paste, take the almond soak it overnight or for few hours and the take out the skin and blend it into smooth paste with little water.

Even though there is no one drops of fat it’s very yummy.

To make it even healthier you can add 3/4th cup dates paste.

Or you can add cane sugar, its gives a beautiful colour to the halwa.

Leave a Reply

