Basic Bread/white Bread

IMG_2991

Hmmm …. What should I say I love baking but bread baking is one thing I fear, and nowadays that I try vegan baking it’s even more scary and I am worried about the end results sigh. I have already baked bread, I had baked the bread while in India last year with US yeast packets which I had taken to India, but the result was ok not like my super hit cakes, I was so disappointed with the result. I just dropped the idea of making the normal white bread, I think that’s the basic bread, and I could not get a very good result, I was sulking for many days sigh.

Recently I was craving to eat the sandwich which amma makes from the time we were kids, either for breakfast or snacks but what about bread, I don’t prefer buying breads here in the US, I get the egg smell in the breads and buns I buy and it goes waste, so I decided I will try again bread baking.I have baked different type’s of breads, but baking loaf/ sandwich BREAD is one tough job.

IMG_3026

I started searching for vegan basic white bread and I got this recipe and….. what a beautiful result, the most soft and yummiest bread it was. I dint take step by step photos(see notes) because I thought that the result  might not be good, but  then this bread recipe is for  keeps. I made yummy sandwich immediately will post that recipe too. So let’s make it before I forget the measurements, yesterday at this time yummy bread aroma was filled in our apartment sigh.

Basic Information:
Preparation Time: 15 to 20 minutes.
Idle Time: 3  hours
Cooking Time: 35 to 40 mins
makes: 1 loaf

WHAT YOU WILL NEED

Maida/bread flour – 3 cups

Yeast – 1 tbsp

Oil – 2 tbsp

Sugar – 1 tbsp

Salt – 1 ½ tsp

Almond milk – ½ cup (see notes)

Luke warm water – ½ cup

HOW TO MAKE

In a bowl add warm water, sugar, yeast mix well let the yeast poof for 5 minutes or so.

In another bowl add Maida, salt and mix well and keep aside.

Once the yeast is proved add oil, almond milk and mix well.

Now take the dry ingredients and add the above wet ingredients and kneed it into smooth dough.

Kneed it for 8 to 10 minutes so that the gluten forms.

Now keep the dough in a warm place for rising, by covering it with a damp cloth. Mine took an hour for rising.

Once it’s the dough is doubled or risen nicely, take the dough punch it down and kneed it again for 2 minutes then shape it into loaf and place it in a loaf tin and keep it again for second  rising .Mine took 45 minute to rise.

Then bake the bread for 35 to 40 minutes in a preheated oven at 375 F

NOTES

Don’t skip kneading for 8 to 10 minutes, more kneading gives nice texture for the bread.

For making almond milk , just soak almonds  in water for few hours or just microwave for 30 seconds and then remove the skin, then grind it and then strain it or used like that only by adding more water.

You can add just dairy milk, if you don’t want to make it vegan.

I dint have parchment paper, so better use parchment paper for proper shape, so the dome was somewhat not proper buts still the taste was good.

If your loaf pan has lid then good the shape will come even more prefect.

For the step by step photos check this recipe, it’s almost the same only the quantity and just one ingredient difference.

2 thoughts on “Basic Bread/white Bread

Leave a Reply

