Sajjappa and Happy Gowri & Ganesha habba

IMG_3267

I wanted to make sajjappa from a very long time. I eat this first time during my wedding, I had never had this before my wedding, once I was married into this Iyengar family did I eat this sweet, I liked it instantly. Since it being a typical Iyengar sweet I asked my MIL how to make, she did give me her recipe, but I made sigh changes according to my taste speaking to amma about this recipe sigh, so this recipe has inputs, by MIL, Amma and me. It’s a very easy recipe, I thought it will take long time and it might be tough but it’s very simple, but it might take time obviously if the quantity is more, so let’s start making.

GaneshChaturth-14

Basic Information:
Preparation Time: 15 to 20 minutes.
Idle Time: NIL
Cooking Time: 20 mins
makes: 10

WHAT YOU WILL NEED

Outer covering

½ cup – Chiroti rava/fine rava/ fine semolina

¼ cup – Maida

½ tsp – salt

½ cup – water

2 tsp – oil + some extra will rolling the sajjappa

Stuffing

1tbsp – poppy seeds

½ cup – Jaggery (see notes)

1 cup –  grated dry coconut

½ tsp – elichi/ cardamom powder

1 tsp – water

Oil for frying

HOW TO MAKE

First make the dough using the ingredients under outer covering. The dough consistency should be like chapatti dough, not too soft not too hard. Keep the dough covered for 20 minutes or more.

IMG_3248 IMG_3249

Now for the filling, in a pan roast the poppy seeds. Let it roast for 2 to 3 minutes. Once the poppy seeds are roasted add the jaggery, coconut, elichi and roast it for 5 minutes.

IMG_3251 IMG_3252 IMG_3257

The jaggery will start meting a bit , since I have used powdered jaggery I added one tsp water, so the stuffing  will hold shape and easy to handle.

IMG_3258 IMG_3262 IMG_3263

Once the stuffing is ready keep it aside. Take the dough divide the dough into 10 parts. Take the dived dough  roll it into small poori size or 2 inch diameter using some oil  , Place the  stuffing  in the centre and gather all the sides  and fatten it into a  2inch diameter  circle and deep fry  in the heated oil and then the sajjappa’s are ready.

Notes

I used powdered jaggery, so I added one tsp water, if you’re using normal or blocks jaggery. First slightly powder the jaggery add  1 tbsp water and let it melt and become watery , then add the jaggery , elichi and  coconut and cook until the water is evaporated.

I have used dry coconut you can use fresh coconut too.

While flattening or pressing the sajjappa be careful or the filling might come out.

Only Maida dough can be made, but it won’t be that crispy.

The more you keep the dough for resting; more better, it will be easy to handle.

4 thoughts on “Sajjappa and Happy Gowri & Ganesha habba

Leave a Reply

