Mothichur ladoo (Vegan)

IMG_3878

I love mothichur ladoo, its soft, moist and of course yum. I wanted to try making at home, but was intimidated to make the ladoo, but then I wanted to make it as prasada for Shridi Sai Baba, so I started browsing for an easy recipe.  I found the recipe in Tarladalal’s website, I felt it was actually an easy recipe and decided to do it. In the beginning it was intimidating but once you make the boondi’s you feel ok it’s not that tough. These sweeties were used during the weekend get together my friends were amazed that we could make it at home and that to like store bought, I was darn happy.

IMG_3877

I have made vegan Mothichur ladoo, you see nowadays I try to make it vegan I am a vegan fanatic you see. Also I dint have orange food colour so I have added turmeric , so if you want not only the authentic taste , but if you even want the authentic colour then you need to add the orange food colour. Mine look colourless but yummy they are. Ok let’s start making.

Basic Information:
Preparation Time: 20 minutes.
Idle Time: nil hours
Cooking Time: 45 mins
makes: 25 to 30 (depending on the size)

WHAT YOU WILL NEED

1 and ½ cup besan flour

1 and ½ tbsp rava /semolina

1 and 1/4th cup sugar (I have used vegan brown sugar)

Oil for deep frying

1 tsp orange food colour (I have not added)

1/4th cup Chopped almonds

1 tsp eliche/cardamom powder

¼ th tsp salt

In a pan add sugar and add 1 cup of water and bring it to a boil.Heat till the sugar gets dissolved stirring in between.Once sugar gets dissolved stop stirring and boil till this reach one string consistency.

IMG_3866 IMG_3868

Check for 1 string consistency. If you take the sugar syrup in your thumb finger and index finger it should form one string consistency.

In another bowl mix the besan, rava, salt, 1 and ½ cup water and mix well and make a nice batter; the consistence of the batter must be like dosa the batter.

IMG_3862 IMG_3864

Now heat the oil, once the oil is hot, hold a perforated spoon over the hot oil and pour a little batter at a time using a ladle over the perforated spoon. Spread the batter with the back of a spoon so that the bond falls into the oil.

IMG_3867IMG_3870

Take out the boondi’s out soon, we don’t want crispy boondi, it should be soft. Once the boondhi is done, keep aside.Warm the sugar syrup, and add the boondi and mix well, the boondi and sugar syrup should be mixed well, let it cool

IMG_3874IMG_3873

Once boondi is cooled well, add the boondi to mixer with two tbsp hot water and pulse it, don’t grind the boondi just pulse.

Once done transfer in wide bowl add the almond and make lemon sizied balls and its ready to serve.

Notes

I have added brown vegan sugar, you can add normal sugar.

Pista, walnuts etc also can be added, instead of just almonds.

I recommend adding orange colour, for the store bought looks or you can skip, next time I will add the colour and post a pica.

You can deep fry in ghee to get the real taste, or frying in oil too is good according to me.

8 thoughts on “Mothichur ladoo (Vegan)

  1. Nice one Bharani 🙂 I have been making ladoos for Diwali every year for the past seven years but never once attempted motichur ladoo 🙂 As you said, once you make the boondi, its not so intimidating anymore 🙂

Leave a Reply

